The Inside Track

Legislative Update for the Horsemen's Benevolent & Protective Association

The 2015-2016 legislative session is now a thing of the past, and members will return to Harrisburg in January to convene the 2017-2018 session.

Scratched: Fantasy Sports Betting Legislation

No bill to expand gaming in Pennsylvania made it to the governor's desk this year, even though the legislature had booked \$100 million of new revenue in the budget for the 2016-2017 fiscal year in anticipation of gaming expansion (internet gaming and fantasy sports betting). However, since the court struck down the casino local share earlier this fall and there are still six months left in the fiscal year, it's possible gaming expansion initiatives will see the light of day sometime when the Legislature returns next year.

Across the Finish Line: H.B. 2303

The legislative fix that addresses the breeders stakes payment became law on Oct. 28, 2016. The bill corrects errors as to how the breeder's money is distributed and is now Act 114 of 2016.

Who Went the Distance: Election Update

In the state Senate, members holding odd-numbered seats were up for re-election this year and all 203 members of the House of Representatives were up for re-election. Here's how things shook out:

In Erie County, home of Presque Isle Downs:

- Rep. Patrick Harkins (D, HD-1) defeated William Crotty (R) ;
- Rep. Florindo Fabrizio (D, HD-2) defeated Pat Fuller (R);
- Rep. Ryan Bizzarro (D, HD-3) defeated former Rep. Greg Lucas (R);
- Rep. Curtis Sonney (R, HD-4) had no general election challenger;
- Rep. Brad Roae (R, HD-6) defeated Peter Zimmer (D);
- Rep. Parke Wentling (R, HD-17) defeated Wayne Hanson (D); and
- Daniel Laughlin (R) unseated Sen. Sean Wiley (D, SD-49).

In Dauphin County, home of Penn National Race Course:

- Rep. David Hickernell (R, HD-98) had no challenger;
- Rep. Patty Kim (D, HD-103) had no challenger;
- Rep. Susan Helm (R, HD-104) defeated Jody Rebarchak (D);
- Rep. Ron Marsico (R, HD-105) had no general election challenger;
- Rep. John Payne (R, HD-106) did not run for re-election and Republican candidate Tom Mehaffie, who had no challenger, will take that seat in January;
- Rep. Mike Tobash (R, HD-125) had no challenger; and
- John Disanto (R) unseated Sen. Rob Teplitz (D, SD-15).

As for members of our legislative leadership team,

- House Speaker Rep. Mike Turzai (R, HD-28) defeated John Craig Hammond (D);
- House Majority Leader Rep. Dave Reed (R, HD-62) defeated Patrick Edwards (D);
- House Minority Leader Rep. Frank Dermody (D, HD-33) had no challenger;
- Senate Democratic Leader Sen. Jay Costa (D, SD-43) had no challenger ; and
- Senate Majority Leader Sen. Jake Corman (R, SD-34) will not run for re-election until 2018.

All of the leaders listed above also have been re-elected to their leadership posts.